A Gun and the Summer of ’74

I’ve been thinking about something that happened to me over 40 years ago when I was working for a friend of my parents at a small motel in northern Virginia….

A young guy about age 20 walked into the lobby and asked for a job application. I explained we weren’t hiring, so he said he wanted a pack of Marlboros. I walked over behind the counter, handed him the cigarettes and told him that would be 50 cents. (Yes, you read that right.) He produced a $1 bill and when I opened the drawer to get change he told me he wanted all the money. I looked up and saw a small gun cradled near his left elbow as his arm rested on the counter.

You can read the rest of the story over at Redeemer Church here.

What are your thoughts?

