A Son’s Sweet Reminder

Yesterday I talked about a former boss warning me decades ago that I would be “wasting” my talents as a stay-at-home mom. My youngest son, Jake, called me from law school to remind me of a time when wasting time together brought tears to my eyes….

All seven of my kids played basketball. With a family so large we couldn’t spend all year adding lots of different sports to our crazy life and calendar. We told the kids they could each choose one sport so we’d also have enough money to also give them piano lessons. (Dads and Moms have to compromise on a lot of things — he wanted sports and I wanted music so our kids did both.) Because Josh, our oldest, chose basketball, his siblings followed behind him. You can imagine how many games we attended over the years!

Benny was staying at a local hotel for a conference one afternoon when Jake and I headed out to one of his high school games. He loves country music, so we often listened to the local country station when we were out together.  A then new song by Brad Paisley came on called Time Well Wasted. Jake drew my attention to the song — he knew the tear jerkers are always my favs. He was right; tears welled in my eyes as I listened to the chorus:

It was time well wasted
And there’s no way I trade a few more dollars in my pocket I could’ve spent
For a day I’ll never forget
No, I didn’t get a thing done
But I sure soaked up every minute of the memory we were makin’
And I count it all as time well wasted

65735_437200766363974_468458867_n

Jake and I don’t get as much time to waste together now since he’s wasting his time mostly with Sarah. (They’ll be married on December 28th.)

I had forgotten about the song and the moment I shared in the car with my son. You see, his dad was leaving the conference to come to Jake’s game that evening.

“Mom,” Jake reminded me yesterday, “it wasn’t a special game. Just another game. But Dad broke away and came. Your post today reminded me of that day and I wondered if it was in the back of your mind while you were writing it?”

No, son, it wasn’t. But my years of staying home with you and your sibs were years well wasted. I really wouldn’t trade a few or a lot more dollars in my pocket, a vehicle that stayed clean, a bigger house or a whole lot more time for myself for times like that day in the car riding together to your game.

Thanks for the reminder.  I love you!

The Ultimate Blog Challenge: Day Five

UBC-banner3

8 thoughts on “A Son’s Sweet Reminder

  1. Sheree- I hate sappy songs, but I LOVED watching the kids doing ballet, softball, baseball, ultimate Frisbee etc. I used to tell the kids that when they all grew up- I would still go to the ballpark and pick out a little guy or gal to root for. Then guess what? My husband, son and son’s in law played ball together, and now my grandchildren are starting to play ball. The sweetness continues, and I LOVE to be a part of it as often as I can!

  2. This is a lovely post. You’re so right ~ what our kids will remember is the time we spent with them, not how much money we spent on them. 🙂

    Loved the verses of that song. Nice to meet you via UBC. Cheers!

What are your thoughts?

