I Wanna Be Well Known…Do You?

Over the weekend I was thinking about sin. Not in a condemning or introspective way but in a joyous, isn’t-God-amazing way.

One of the many cool things about being a part of a new church is that each person the Lord brings to us is like a freshly wrapped package waiting to be opened. It’s fun to ask questions and get to know this new person.

What a surprise when a brand new acquaintance actually takes the risk of inviting you into their heart and life! This has happened several times at Redeemer Church. New folks come in and quickly start disclosing things about themselves. The surprise isn’t what they disclose — but that they’re disclosing it with people they just met.

Recently this happened in a big way twice. One new friend asked if I would be willing to meet with their daughter who is having some personal struggles. These humble parents are willing to allow their child to open up her life and family, which is requiring being more concerned about their child than about what she might tell me about herself, her parents  and her family.  Another new friend confessed some recent sin and articulately communicated their desire to grow in godliness by turning from this sin to honor the Lord, even in secret.

Neither of these folks had to do what they did. It was a choice. And a hard one at that.

Are you well known? Are there people to whom you are comfortable going to get help? The fact is we all need help. We are meant to live in community with others who need help, too.  Our culture is driven by autonomy and independence, not community and real life friendship. My new friends are reminding my with their actions and their humility that even in our fast paced, technology driven culture there is room for genuine relationship.

I want to be well known. Even this blog is a way for me to communicate my brokenness. Like you, I need people in my life who know my strengths and weaknesses. Successes and failures. Sins and victories. Friends who are savvy about whether my silence is self-protective or sensitive because we’ve talked about it enough to raise their eyebrows when needed. People who I trust will call me out when sarcasm is a snooty jab rather than a playful quip. Fellow sinners who come alongside rather than judge and encourage baby steps in the right direction when others might wait for giant steps toward Christlikeness.

Being well known is risky.

Are you willing to take the risk?

4 thoughts on “I Wanna Be Well Known…Do You?

  1. Sheree, you bless me. I have been telling God the past few months that I want to be known among my new friends. How amazing that God is answering my heart’s cry by allowing me to be vulnerable. Your choice of words today showed me how God is answering!

What are your thoughts?

