No More White Cheddar Cheez-Its

This weekend we pack up our youngest son to move away to law school. As I said yesterday, in my heart is both joy and sorrow.

Joy because:

  • He gets to stay in school. Since he was a toddler Jake has loved being a student. And he’s been a good one. Home schooling him was a lot of fun. He went out a few days ago to buy notebooks and pencils and highlighters and he loved it.
  • He’s only moving two hours away. Of course, I hoped he would choose a school nearby but there were some great choices and I didn’t want to influence him. God led him to the University of Florida; not me. I like that.
  • He’ll have a great church home there. Some dear friends will be there to give him hugs and maybe have him over for a home cooked meal or two.
  • He has two Christian roommates — one is the son of some dear friends. How kind of God!

Jake is the youngest in the striped shirt. Nags Head, age 4.

Sorrow because:

  • He won’t come into our room most nights (late) to chat about the day.
  • I won’t hear the front door open with him singing, sometimes at the top of his lungs.
  • Worship music won’t come from our piano much anymore; especially when I’ve had a rough day.
  • I won’t laugh as often.
  • His friends won’t be over. One of the things I dislike the most about “losing” a child is their friends don’t eat nearly as much of my food.
  • Milk will go bad quicker and I will have no reason to buy white cheddar Cheez-Its.
  • His bedroom door will stay open because people won’t be scared to look in there anymore. Yep. Can’t believe I’m saying this but I will miss his messy room.

Leading worship at Redeemer Church.

There is so much to be grateful for about this move. But I’m having trouble focusing on those things today. I know he will have a blast and love being back in the classroom. And I know God will help me to find joy in watching him move on to this next season of his life. Before long peace will set in and I won’t cry anymore. After all, he’s the 6th of my seven J’s to get big and move out.

But for now I’m just sad. The errands are done, most of the purchases have been made and Benny picks up the U-Haul trailer tomorrow. Now it’s time to help my boy-turned-man pack up his room: basketball trophies and books and t-shirts that should have been ditched awhile ago and stuff we’ll find under his bed that’s been there for months. The boxes we pack today and tomorrow will be filled with things that will probably never come back home again.

Maybe he’ll want to leave the trophies.

Friends and family praying for Jake last Sunday. Lord, please pour out Your Spirit on my son as he takes this new step into the future You have ordained for him.

5 thoughts on “No More White Cheddar Cheez-Its

  1. My heart hurts for you as you walk through the painful goodbyes of life as you’ve known it. I am praying for you! Let’s go to lunch next week ok? Your pick for your birthday! Love you dearly…Go Gators! I just had to throw that in. 🙂

  2. Awww! But there will be lots of holidays for which you’ll need to clear the store shelves of white cheddar cheez-its! 🙂 And I know a very little boy who will take a hug in Jakes absence. 🙂

What are your thoughts?

