When Life Gets Boring

I’ve been thinking about how easy it is to find life to be boring.

My “boring” duties are this beautiful???

When there’s something “meaningful” or new or exciting to do, it’s so much easier to find purpose in my days. But what about those days when all that’s on my plate is to vacuum, exercise the dog, make a grocery run and do some laundry?

B.O.R.I.N.G.

Like yesterday. I knew when I went to bed the night before that I had a full day coming: taking a friend to a doctor’s appointment, a pastoral meeting with Benny, and dinner with a dear couple in our church. I woke up with a prayer on my heart: “Lord, help me today. I want to be a vessel of grace to those I come in contact with. Help me to communicate care and love for Liz. I need your wisdom in the meeting Benny and I have. And help us to be an encouragement to David and Julie over dinner. Thank you for this day and all that lies ahead. I want to honor You today, Lord.”

How different than the day before when my task list was normal every day stuff that moms and homemakers do.  I don’t remember if I even asked for God’s help. So I probably didn’t.  After all, I’ve been doing floors and laundry for decades!

Today I came across a quote in my journal that has spoken to me several times over the years:

“The colored sunsets and starry heavens, the beautiful mountains and the shining seas, the fragrant woods and painted flowers, are not half so beautiful as a soul that is serving Jesus out of love, in the wear and tear of common, unpoetic life” (Faber).

Yep, much of what I do is pretty unpoetic. The question is this: Is serving Jesus out of love the reason why I do unpoetic things?

Hmm….I need to think about that.

One thought on “When Life Gets Boring

What are your thoughts?

